The aircraft broker
course guide

Four steps, in the order people decide them: what the job is, whether the licence, cost and pay work for you, which of the seven courses fits, and who to ask before you pay.

A Gulfstream business jet parked on an airport ramp at sunset, seen from behind.
  1. 1Understand the jobStart here if brokering is new to you.
  2. 2Check licence, cost, paySix countries, real figures, dated.
  3. 3Compare the coursesReady to choose? Seven courses, facts only.
  4. 4Talk it throughA free webinar or call with IABI.

Understand the job

A broker arranges a flight or an aircraft sale for a client, and never flies the aircraft. The company that flies holds operational control. In the US, a charter broker’s own advertising must say it is a broker, not the carrier (14 CFR 295.23).

Two jobs share one name

Four large business jets parked side by side on an airport apron.

Charter broker

The client buys
A flight. “Geneva on Thursday, six people.”
The work
Sourcing aircraft, quoting, contracting the operator, managing the trip.
Deal length
Days. Repeat clients matter.
How you are paid
Base or draw plus commission if employed; a margin in the quote if independent.
Courses that teach it
6 of the 7 compared below.
What charter training should cover
A Boeing Business Jet on static display at the EBACE show in Geneva, behind crowd barriers.

Aircraft sales broker

The client buys
An aircraft, or sells one.
The work
Market search, valuation, offer, inspection, escrow, closing.
Deal length
Months. Deals can fall through before closing.
How you are paid
Commission on the sale, or a fixed fee on very large aircraft.
Courses that teach it
2 of the 7 compared below.
What sales training should cover

Three ways people get in

  • Join a brokerage as a trainee. A base or draw while you learn, a mentor, and an existing book of operators. Some entry roles ask for no aviation background.
  • Move across from a nearby job. FBO, airline, private aviation or luxury sales. You bring clients or aviation knowledge with you.
  • Build independently. You keep more of each deal, and carry every cost and every quiet month yourself.

None is fast and none is guaranteed. No course can promise a job or an income.

Check licence, cost and pay

No country we checked issues a licence called “aircraft broker”. Something else applies in each one, and the course fee is usually the smallest number in the first year.

Do you need a licence where you live?

No. There is no federal aircraft broker licence.

  • Charter brokers follow 14 CFR Part 295: say you are a broker, never act or advertise as the airline. The operator holds its own DOT and FAA authority.
  • Sales brokers work under ordinary business law. A few states require aircraft dealer registration, usually tied to sales tax.

No UK or EU regulator issues a broker licence.

  • In the UK, a broker who contracts to supply seats can need an ATOL. Selling a whole aircraft to a buyer who does not resell it falls under the Whole Plane Sales exemption.
  • The flight itself must run under an operator’s Air Operator Certificate.

We found no licence named “aircraft broker” in the UAE, Saudi Arabia or Qatar.

  • Saudi Arabia’s GACA lists commercial-agent licences that sit near brokering. Qatar has licensed travel offices since 10 April 2025.
  • A free-zone trade licence is a company licence, not aviation permission. Get the authority’s answer in writing.

No federal aircraft broker licence that we could find.

  • The CTA ruled in 2016 that resellers who do not present themselves as an air carrier need no CTA licence.
  • Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec license travel intermediaries. Ask the provincial regulator about your model.

No licence called “aircraft broker” or “charter broker” that we could find.

  • Charter operators need a DGCA Non-Scheduled Operator’s Permit. We found no rule that requires a broker to hold one, and none that expressly allows brokering without one.
  • Foreign-registered aircraft on charter flights need DGCA clearance.

We could not find an Australian broker licence.

  • Whoever flies the charter needs a CASA air operator’s certificate. The Australian Consumer Law bans false claims of approval or affiliation.
  • State travel agent licensing ended in 2014.

A course certificate, IABI’s included, is a private training credential. It is not a licence anywhere.

A Gulfstream G650 on static display at the Paris Air Show, Le Bourget, with its airstair down.
Gulfstream G650 on static display, Paris Air Show, Le Bourget, 2017. Trade shows are a real cost line.

What the first year costs

Published first-year costs, checked 17 October 2026
Course tuition, published US prices$999 to $3,990
Avinode sourcing membership€740 to €2,119 a month
NBAA-BACE badge, non-member$770 to $1,030
Errors and omissions insuranceQuoted per person
Months before your first commissionNobody can say

Prices from each publisher’s site on 17 October 2026. If a brokerage employs you, it usually carries the subscriptions and events.

Work out your own first year

What job postings pay

$40,000 to $90,000 advertised base pay for US charter sales roles, plus commission

Open postings that publish pay, each read on 17 October 2026. A sample, not a survey.
WhereEmployerRoleBase payCommission
New YorkAir Charter ServiceEntry-level Private Jet Charter Sales Consultant$70K10% uncapped
ChicagoAir Charter ServiceExperienced Charter Sales Consultant$60K to $85K10% uncapped
US, remoteSkyAccessCharter Sales Broker$40,000Uncapped
USVentura Air ServicesAssistant Charter Sales Manager$70,000 to $90,000Plan, no rate given
LondonTARCG (recruiter)Private Jet Charter Broker£40,000 to £45,000+10% uncapped
TorontoAir Charter ServiceEntry-level Private Jets Sales ConsultantCAD 80KUncapped
GurugramAir Charter ServiceLuxury Charter Sales ConsultantINR 90,000 a month10% uncapped

Compare the seven courses

Every fact comes from the provider’s own website, with the date we checked it. No scores and no rankings. IABI publishes this guide and sells two of these courses, so its row comes first and is labelled.

Which side?
How it is taught
Who can join
Order

All 7 courses shown.

International Aircraft Broker Institute (IABI) Publisheriabi.aeroCharter and salesOnline, self-pacedSelf-paced, lifetime access$999 per course, $1,499 both
What it covers
Charter and aircraft sales, as separate courses or one combined program. A separate Coaching Program bundles all courses and masterclasses with mentoring
Format
Online, self-paced: text, audio and video lessons
Curriculum
Charter: 10 modules plus 5 masterclasses. Sales: 12 modules plus 3 masterclasses
Length
Self-paced, lifetime access
Price
$999 per course, $1,499 for both. Klarna and Afterpay at checkout on every package, and in-house financing on the Complete Program. Masterclasses are also sold separately at $299 each. Fees are non-refundable, per its terms. The Coaching Program is $2,499 for group coaching (2 to 5 students) or $3,999 one-on-one
Who can join
Anyone. No aviation experience required
Certificate
IABI certificate after a final exam. A private training credential, not a license
Free to try
Free webinar and free consultation
Support
The Complete Program adds four 30-minute one-to-one coaching sessions and a 6-month guaranteed internship with Certified Jets, part of the same group as IABI. Every package includes 6 months of JetPay app membership. A separate Coaching Program runs 2 months over 8 weekly sessions, group or one-to-one, with all courses, masterclasses and the internship included
Source
iabi.aero, checked 17 October 2026
Aircraft Broker Academyaircraftbrokeracademy.comAircraft salesOnline, self-paced videoAbout 2 weeks, lifetime access$1,499
What it covers
Aircraft sales. Charter and leasing appear as an other-income module
Format
Online, self-paced video lessons
Curriculum
9 modules, 128 lessons
Length
About 2 weeks on average, per its site. Lifetime access
Price
$1,499. The Accelerator option is $1,499 plus $150 a month for Private Jet MLS access. Afterpay instalments, USA only
Who can join
Anyone. No aviation experience required
Certificate
A “university-style diploma”, in its words. No exam or final test is described on its site
Free to try
A free trial is mentioned on its site
Support
Access to its Inner Circle and a private Facebook group. The Accelerator option adds a 3-day virtual bootcamp and work with a partner brokerage
Source
aircraftbrokeracademy.com, checked 17 October 2026
Elysium Jet Academyelysiumjet-academy.comCharterOnline, cohort-based8 weeks$3,990
What it covers
Charter
Format
Online, cohort-based. A new module every 3 days, plus live group calls, one-to-one coaching and a Slack community. Cohorts start monthly and are capped at 10 places
Curriculum
20+ modules across four blocks: industry structure, aircraft knowledge and operations, pricing and quoting, then negotiation, crisis handling and career preparation
Length
8 weeks, 10 to 15 hours a week, per its site
Price
$3,990, due in full at enrolment. Its FAQ states it does not currently offer payment plans
Who can join
By application: a form, then a selection call. Its site states not everyone who applies is accepted. No aviation experience required
Certificate
An Elysium Jet Academy certification on completion. Its terms state it does not guarantee recognition by third parties, government agencies or industry organisations
Free to try
Not stated on its website
Support
Live group calls, private one-to-one coaching and instructor access via Slack during the 8 weeks. Its site also lists career support and job placement assistance; its terms state it does not guarantee job placement or employment
Source
elysiumjet-academy.com, checked 17 October 2026
Monarch Air Group Broker Schoolprivatejetbrokerschool.comCharterIn person, Fort Lauderdale3 weeks$1,800
What it covers
Charter
Format
In person in Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Curriculum
Aircraft types and performance, charter options (on-demand, jet cards, fractional), the sales process, closing and objections, post-sale support, regulatory compliance and ramp operations
Length
3 weeks, 4 to 8 hours a week. The start date shown on its site (March 2025) has passed, so dates are unconfirmed: check that a new intake is scheduled
Price
$1,800
Who can join
Age 21 or over, based in South Florida, US work authorization with 2 to 3 years of sales experience. Its site also lists real estate brokers and FBO staff
Certificate
Not stated on its website
Free to try
Not stated on its website
Support
Instructor feedback, guest speakers, role-play and case studies. Weekly quizzes and assignments, then a final assessment
Source
privatejetbrokerschool.com, checked 17 October 2026
Private Jet Instituteprivatejetinstitute.comCharterOnline, self-paced31 days$1,250
What it covers
Charter
Format
Online, self-paced
Curriculum
Industry layout, pricing, client acquisition and trip management. Modules are not itemized on its site
Length
31 days to complete
Price
$1,250
Who can join
Anyone. No aviation knowledge needed
Certificate
Not stated on its website
Free to try
Not stated on its website
Support
24/7 email and instructor support
Source
privatejetinstitute.com, checked 17 October 2026
The Air Charter Association: Broker Qualificationtheaircharterassociation.aeroCharterIn person, 3 levels (Level 1 also online)Not stated£445 to £545 per level
What it covers
Charter
Format
Three levels taught in person. Level 1 is also offered online
Curriculum
Three assessed levels, from foundation knowledge to advanced broker skills
Length
Not stated on its website
Price
£445 to £545 per level (Level 1 online £495). Discounts for member companies
Who can join
Only people employed by an ACA member company. A separate one-day Air Charter Essentials Certificate, launched February 2026, is open to non-members
Certificate
A certificate at each level, and the full Broker Qualification after all three
Free to try
Not stated on its website
Support
Not stated on its website. Level 2 includes a site visit
Source
theaircharterassociation.aero, checked 17 October 2026
The Broker Academythe-broker-academy.comCharterLive online, Microsoft Teams6-month mentorshipNot stated
What it covers
Charter
Format
Live online over Microsoft Teams, twice a week. For individuals that means a 6-month one-on-one mentorship; its 6, 12 and 18-week tracks are sold to companies
Curriculum
12 modules across industry foundations, business and operations, with a final exam
Length
6-month mentorship for individuals. Company tracks of 6, 12 or 18 weeks. A 1-day assessment for experienced individuals is marked “coming soon”
Price
Not stated on its website
Who can join
By application
Certificate
A certificate after the final exam
Free to try
Not stated on its website
Support
Twice-weekly one-on-one Microsoft Teams sessions in the mentorship option
Source
the-broker-academy.com, checked 17 October 2026

Down to two or three? Before you pay anyone, step 4 is a free webinar or call to ask your questions. Talk it through

The cabin of a Gulfstream business jet, cream leather seats facing each other beside oval windows.

Talk it through first

From IABI, the publisher of this guide. Two free ways to ask about your own situation (charter or sales, your country, your budget) before you spend anything.

Free live webinar

How the job works, how IABI’s two courses are set up, and open questions at the end.

Join the free webinar

Free consultation

A one-to-one call with IABI. Bring this page’s questions: which side, which country, which course.

Book a free consultation

Both are free, with no obligation to buy. IABI sells two of the seven courses above. No course, IABI’s included, can promise a job, an income or a licence. Why IABI publishes this guide

Three questions people ask first

Do I need a license to be an aircraft broker?

In the United States there is no federal aircraft broker license. Charter brokers must follow the US DOT’s rules in 14 CFR Part 295, and a few states license or register aircraft dealers. Read the full answer.

Will a course get me a job?

No. Training builds knowledge. No course, IABI’s included, can promise a job, an interview or an income.

Why is IABI listed first?

Because IABI publishes this site. Its listing is labelled as our own product. Other providers are described from their own websites, without scores or rankings. How this site works.

A passenger at an aircraft window at sunset, the horizon orange below a blue sky.

Photographs: Chris Leipelt, Andy Wang and Soheb Zaidi on Unsplash; “Static display, EBACE 2018, Le Grand-Saconnex (BL7C0541)” by Matti Blume, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons. “Gulfstream Aerospace, N650ER, Gulfstream G650 (34839152164)” by Anna Zvereva from Tallinn, Estonia, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons. “Carpark for the RICH (1988728952)” by ╚ DD╔ from Male, Maldives, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.